You are here: Home Who We Are The Contemplative Sisters - Page 2
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Community of St. John

Article Index
The Contemplative Sisters
Prayer and Silence
Search for Truth
Fraternal Charity
A Typical Weekday

The Community of the Sisters of Saint John, established as a religious Institute of Diocesan Right by the Archbishop of Lyon on March 25, 1994, was founded by Father Marie Dominique Philippe, O.P.  on December 8, 1982, seven years after the Brothers of Saint-John, in view of a contemplative life. Usually establishing their houses near a priory of their Brothers, they can thus take part in the mission of their Brother and Sister apostles by their presence, prayer, and service.

Today there are 32 priories throughout the world. There are currently two priories in the US - the novitiate house in Princeville, IL and a priory in Laredo, TX.